• How to Enable Certificates of Completion

    Instructors have the option of enabling a digital certificate of completion, which will be generated for a user, when they’ve completed 100% of the course. If you wish to enable certificates of completion for your courses, please follow the steps below: 

    1. Click on Instructor at the top right hand of the page, and then select Instructor Dashboard from the dropdown menu
    2. Move your cursor to the course icon and click on Go to Course Management
    3. Click on Course Settings on the right
    4. Scroll down on the Course Settings page to the Certificates section
    5. Click the Enable Certificate box and then Savecourse_settings.png

    enable_certificate.png

    Read Article
  • Direct Messages: Rules and Guidelines

    Direct Messaging is a tool that users use to ask the instructor any questions about the course content. This is a tool that users and instructors can use to ask and answer questions about the course content, and for instructors to use to get dedicated feedback on the course. This is meant for 1:1 learning and feedback, not to promote or market to users. 

    Instructors – Detailed Guidelines

    • DO answer questions politely and in a timely manner.
    • DON’T send rude, aggressive, or threatening messages to users.
    • DON’T use Direct Messaging for mass-messaging users about promotions; the use of coupons, external links, marketing messages or references to the same are prohibited. We understand that users can reach out with questions or requests, and it is important for instructors to be responsive. When users reach out with specific questions, you can feel free to answer them and direct them to appropriate resources. However, this is where we will take context into account.
      • For example, if an instructor is encouraging users within the course to send them Direct Messages asking for coupons, then it is considered a violation of our policies when an instructor provides the coupon code through Direct Messaging.
      • On the other hand, if a user reaches out with a question about additional material, it is not a violation if the instructor sends a link to their website where there is more information.
    • DON’T ask for or post personal information about users.

    Users – Detailed Guidelines

    • DO ask instructors questions politely, if you’d prefer not to participate in public course discussions.
    • DON’T send rude, aggressive, or threatening messages to instructors.
    • DON’T use Direct Messaging to spam or request free coupons or other material unrelated to the course.

    When an instructor is clearly going against the spirit of Udemy policies in an attempt to game the system or if we see a severe negative impact on the user experience (high unsubscribe rates or refund rates) it will be considered a violation of our policies.

    Escalation Policy

    Learn what happens when there is a violation of our policies here.

    Read Article
  • Adding Multiple Instructors

    A course can have more than one instructor. As the course creator, you are the primary instructor and course owner, and you will be able to add as many co-instructors as you like. Only the primary instructor, however, can edit their own permissions. In addition, the primary instructor cannot be removed from a course by a co-instructor.

    Add a Co-instructor to Your Course

    1. From the Course Roadmap, click Course Settings and scroll down to Instructors
    2. Enter your co-instructors email and click Add Instructor
    3. Grant instructor visibility and edit permissions.
    4. Click Save

    Permissions

    Visible: Checking the visible box means that an instructor will be seen as an active instructor for the course. Their profile picture and name will appear wherever the course is visible in your Udemy for Business account. Users will be able to message the instructor from the course dashboard.

    Manage: A co-instructor with the Manage permission can modify course content and settings. They have full visibility and editing access to all course management functions, including the ability to upload and delete lectures, make changes to how the course displays in the marketplace, and create coupons for the course.

    Q&A: This permission controls whether instructors can view and answer questions from students in the instructor Q&A dashboard.

    Assignments: Instructors who are enabled with the Assignments permission will receive notifications when students submit assignments, and will be able to provide feedback for them if they wish.

    Reviews: Instructors with the Reviews permission will be able to view and respond to student course reviews in the Reviews section of the Instructor Dashboard (please note: in order for an instructor to respond to reviews, they must also be categorized as a visible instructor). 

     

    instructor_options.png

    Read Article
  • Change the Title of a Course

    Your course title can be changed at any time. The change will happen immediately.

    How to Change the Title of a Course

    1. Go to your Instructor Dashboard and select the course you want to update
    2. Click on Course Landing Page
    3. Rename the course in the first box
    4. Click Save either at the top or bottom of the page

    course_title.png

    Read Article
  • Course Privacy

    Instructors have the ability to make courses private. To gain access to the course, users will need to enter a password, or request access.

    How to Change Course Privacy Settings

    1. Navigate to to the course curriculum from the Instructor Dashboard
    2. Click on Course Settings on the right
    3. Toggle the setting from Public to either Private (Invitation Only) or Private (Password Protected)
    4. Click Save   

    course_privacy.jpg

    Types of Privacy

    • Password Protected

    After receiving your course URL, a user must enter the created password on the course landing page in order to access your course.

    • Invitation Only

    A user must request an invitation to the course from the course landing page and you can also send an invitation to the user directly. To send an invitation, click on "Invite Users" on the right hand side of the Users page. If a user requests an invitation for the course, however, then a notification will appear on the left hand side of the page by "Users".

    invite_students.jpg

    Read Article
  • Republish a Course

    An unpublished course can be republished at anytime. To republish your course, head to the Course Roadmap and click on Republish Course on the left hand side.

    republish_course.png

    Read Article
  • Delete or Unpublish a Course

    A course can only be deleted if users are not enrolled. If your course does have users enrolled, you can unpublish it from your Udemy for Business account. Unpublishing a course prevents new users from enrolling.

    Unpublish a Course

    When a course is unpublished, it will no longer be visible in your account and new users cannot enroll. Users who have already enrolled in your course will continue to have access. To unpublish a course, please follow these steps below:

    1. Go to the Course Management page by selecting the course on your Instructor Dashboard
    2. Click on Course Settings on the right hand side and scroll down to Course Status
    3. Click Unpublish
    4. Click yes​ to confirm your decision to unpublish your course.

    delete_unpublish.jpg

    Deleting a Course 

    If there are no Users enrolled, you may delete your course. Deleting a course permanently erases all course content including discussions, and associated files. Deleting a course cannot be undone.

    1. Go to the Course Management page by selecting the course on your Instructor Dashboard
    2. Click on Course Settings on the right hand side and scroll down to Course Status
    3. Click Delete
    4. Click yes​ to confirm your decision to delete your course.

    course_status.jpg

    Read Article